Pilates Jumpboards + Easy Dijon Chicken

Today was jumpboard day in pilates. While I love jumpboard day my legs think it’s pure torture.  I love doing pilates on the reformer and I give it 100% credit for my arms and abs.  I could never lift another weight or do a sit-up for the rest of my life and as long as I went to a reformer class 3 days a week I think I’d be in amazing shape (too bad I don’t always get to class 3 times a week). If I did jumpboards 3 days a week I could probably be a swimsuit model???  Eh, maybe if I never ate candy.

For me, pilates is one of the best ways to lean out and tone my muscles and even though I’ve been doing it for 3 years I still don’t really know the proper term for everything.  I’m working on getting you a guest post from a pilates instructor who can explain everything to you but in the meantime, here’s a short video sort of showing what my workout looked liked.  We didn’t use the ball like she does but I did all of those leg moves plus more. Including my new fave where you were laying on your side and jumping with one leg.  Booty burning.

After that I did 30 minutes of steady-state cardio on the elliptical…incline 1 at a resistance level 10.  And I got sweaty. But I loved it.

Food today was more or less routine…Blueberry smoothie for breakfast.  PB & J for lunch.  Greek yogurt with berries after the gym followed up by an apple and hard-boiled egg as a hold-me-over-till-dinner snack.  But I did try this:

I grabbed a coffee before a meeting around 10:30 (it was a 2 hour meeting.  I needed the caffeine) and not necessarily because I was hungry but more because it looked delicious, I tried the Kind bar.  It was so good, perfect coconut flavor without being too overpowering but I need to be careful not to get into a habit of buying these.  Not only will I be spending unneccessary money but it was 200 calories to consume when I wasn’t even hungry.  I’ll save my extra calories for chips thank you very much.

Am I just totally behind in this Kind bar thing?  The coffee cart lady told me the above was her favorite flavor.  Are there other bars that you guys love?  I’ve also recently tried Skout but I’ve been seeing a lot of people talking about the Cliff Mojo’s and the Larabars.

And apparently since today was all about delicious new things…the new to me recipe I tried for dinner was a hit!  The Fitnessista posted a couple of recipes to go along with her summer shape up and this one sounded pretty good.  Plus, some of the ingredients are household staples.  No matter what, we always have these things in our pantry:

Which came in handy as I made this:

Dijon Chicken with sun-dried tomatoes (recipe belongs to the Fitnessista)

Chop up two organic chicken breasts.  Brown with olive oil, granulated garlic and Italian seasoning (she uses the real spices FYI). Add in 1/3 cup sun-dried tomatoes, 1/2 T Dijon mustard and a little honey and lemon juice.

While the chicken is cooking, make the quinoa – 1/2 cup dry quinoa rinsed and added to 1 cup water.  Bring to boil.  Turn to low.  Cover.  Cook for about 15 minutes or until all the water is gone. And while all of that going on grill some asparagus on the grill by spraying with a little olive oil and sprinkling on red pepper flakes.

Add your chicken mix to your quinoa and serve with asparagus.  Delish.  Even got two thumbs up from Chris.  Winner.  Winner.

And I’m out.  Off to watch more Grimm because that’s what we do here.

Hope you all have had good weeks.  Can you believe it’s Thursday tomorrow?

4 thoughts on “Pilates Jumpboards + Easy Dijon Chicken

    • I would definitely check it out if you can. Both the mat class and on the reformer are great and getting you long and lean. I actually think the mat classes are better core (and sometimes legs if we do the side leg series) workouts where the reformer is better arms. There are a ton of DVD’s out there you can try too. I have the Windsor pilates DVDs which are pretty similar to the mat class I go to.

Leave a Reply

