If you give a mouse a cookie…

He’s going to want a glass of milk*

Except we’re not talking mice and baked goods.  We’re talking about these guys:

How beautiful is that strawberry???  I came home after work to water my plants and saw that my strawberries had finally popped.  Woo hoo!  There is just something about growing your own food in your own backyard that makes you feel good.  Like, “I did that thank-you-very-much.” Plus, it feels like a sign of summer.  June strawberries = summertime.

And what did I do promptly after seeing said berry?

Ate it.  Duh.  But like I mentioned earlier, if you give a mouse lady a cookie strawberry, she’s going to start craving a strawberry smoothie :)  Which is exactly what I made.

Strawberry Cheesecake Protein Smoothie

  • 6-8 fresh strawberries (I wish I could say these came from my garden but we’re not quite there in.  These came from the organic section of Fred Meyer)
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 tablespoon sugar-free, fat-free cheesecake pudding mix
  • 6-8 ice cubes

And the outtake:

Delicious.

We’re meeting some friends for dinner at Matador which is my favorite mexican restaurant and I wanted to make sure I didn’t go there starving. Did you know a protein smoothie makes a great post-work, pre-dinner snack?  My smoothie was around 200 calories with 12 grams of protein and approx 6 grams of fiber. Much better than a handful of chips.

What about you?  Do you eat a snack before dinner?  Even though I usually have something around 3-4 I always want to eat something right when I get home.  Sometimes it’s just because I’m home and eating something after a crazy day at work relaxes me and then sometimes it is genuine hunger.  This is a big area for me to work on.  Eat when I’m hungry instead of eating because I like being snacky.

Luckily, today was true and honest hunger.  Probably because I got my boo-tay kicked this afternoon at spin & sculpt.  Spin & sculpt is a class just like it sounds – 30 minutes of a spin class plus 30 minutes of sculpting (HIIT workouts – 60 seconds at a variety of stations).  I used to go to the class pretty regularly, at least twice a week, but the sculpt tends to bug my knee depending on what we’re doing.  But now since I’m not running Hood to Coast I’m a little less concerned about how my knees feel.  I’m sure a doctor would never agree with that advice but too bad (for now).

Anyway, spin was crazy.  Lots and lots of intervals in and out of the saddle.  I actually thought I was going to puke at the end.  And then we started the sculpt portion which looked like this:

Run up, around, and back down the gym stairs.  repeat the circuit.  Finish with abs, including a side raise toe touch thing that I’d never done but love (and can’t find an example of anywhere so at some point I should just make a video) along with a 30 second plank where I was the only person in class who was able to take it to the next level and raise one leg.  Thank you pilates.

And now I’m actually off to foam roll my legs so that I can walk tomorrow.  Happy almost Friday my friends.

* Please tell me you all have read and love, “If you give a mouse a cookie.”  It is probably my favorite children’s book.  That, and “Love you forever.” 

6 thoughts on “If you give a mouse a cookie…

  1. I haven’t been able to take a spin class in forever because it aggravates my IT band. Your spin class sounds tough!

    I have read, Love You Forever, and it made me cry.

    Happy Friday!

    • I’ve heard that from a couple people about spinning/biking and IT bands…mine suck but somehow the bike is fine. Are you foam rolling yours out? That’s the only thing that saves me.

  2. Your pics are gorgeous!

    I use the phrase if you give a mouse a cookie at work all the time. Unfortunately not enough people know it and look at me like, whaaaat?

    Love you forever is my favorite childhood book! I actually gave it to my Mom with a handwritten note when I moved out for college. (If you go back and read it now though, it’s a little weird…)

    • I use the give a mouse a cookie phrase all the time and I agree, not as many people know what I’m talking about as I would have thought. They’re missing out on some major wisdom haha.
      You’ve got me curious on the I love you forever book. Maybe I’ll have to go re-read.

  3. I just bought that book “Love you forever” yesterday for a baby shower I’m going to tomorrow. Is it ridiculous that it makes me cry every time I read it?? Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

