From pin to plate + killer legs

Pinterest has seriously become my go-to place for recipes and I pinned this one on there what feels like months ago (if you don’t know about Pinterest then I’m pretty sure you’re living under a rock. Go there now and thank me later).  In fact it may have been one of my 1st pins.  There have been many weeks that it goes on our menu but for one reason or another we never get around to making it.  But not this week.  Today I made the BBQ Chicken Quinoa Salad that has been staring me in the face every time I log on to one of the most amazing websites ever.

And it was good.

BBQ Chicken Quinoa Salad 
Original recipe belongs to Gaby at What’s Gaby Cooking.  My version of the recipe below.
Serves 4

2 boneless organic chicken breasts – marinated in BBQ sauce overnight and grilled on the BBQ (this is separate because you need to at least marinate it ahead of time)

  • 1 can corn – rinsed and drained
  • 1 can black beans – rinsed and drained
  • 1 jalapeno – washed and chopped (including the membrane and seeds)
  • 1 avocado – chopped
  • 1 handful cilantro – chopped
  • 3 cups cooked quinoa (3/4 cup dry)
  • Shredded cheese
  • 2 tbsp BBQ sauce
  • Light sour cream

Directions:
Mix corn, beans, jalapeno, quinoa, avocado, BBQ sauce and chicken together.  Add cheese and cilantro.  Top your bowl with sour cream if desired.

So easy and so good.  We’ll have leftovers for tomorrow and I can’t wait.

If you want to see more of my Pinterest finds, head on over there and follow me.

And because today has been all about things I found on the internet…I was so inspired by Young Married Chic’s awesome legs that I decided to add a little weight training to my usual cardio day.

My workout:
60 minutes on the elliptical.  30 of those minutes were dedicated to steady-state cardio of a level 8 resistance at incline level 1.  The next 30 minutes were spent interval-ing it up:

  • Min 30-40: 30 sec speed/1:30 recover
  • Min 40-50: 30 sec speed/1:00 recover
  • Min 50-60: 30 sec speed/30 sec recover

And after that I worked out my legs.  I did this circuit 3 times through with a 30 lb barbell and no rest.  Just plain old wham bam thank you mam.

  • Deadlifts to upright row x 10
  • Deadlifts x 10
  • Squats x 10
  • Side squats x 10 (per leg)
  • Calf raises x 20

After that, I headed into the stretching room and did this 4 times through:

  • Roman twists with a 6 lb medicine ball x 50
  • Fire hydrant leg lifts x 10

And I ended the whole workout with a 60 sec wall sit followed by a 60 sec plank.

Phew.  I’m exhausted just writing it out.  I’m off to watch some TV with Chris and enjoy some popcorn.  But I shall leave you with an adorable picture of Chance during our walk today. And a question:

If you could have any celebrity’s legs, whose would you pick?  I’d go with Carrie Underwood.  Hands down.

14 thoughts on “From pin to plate + killer legs

  1. Yes! Carrie Underwood has amazingggg legs! My runner up would be Jennifer Aniston.
    By the way that salad looks great!!

    • Really? What don’t you get? I’m happy to help explain, although maybe I shouldn’t. It’s kind of a major time suck. I can spend hours on that thing. It also helps if you have good people to follow because I end up just re-pinning a lot of other people’s ideas. If you’re looking for health/fitness stuff – go follow “fitfluential” they have awesome pins.

    • Thanks for following along on Pinterest. I’m pretty sure I could spend my entire day pinning things :) Another great way to eat avocados is in smoothies. You don’t even taste them and they help make things super creamy. I usually chop them up and freeze them and add them in with berries. No avocado taste whatsoever.

      • Yes I totally have been adding them into my green smoothies lately! I do love how they make the smoothies so much creamier. However I have never froze avacados before. I will have to try that!

Leave a Reply

