Making homemade peanut butter

So recently I’ve become obsessed with Bee-Nut butter.  I picked some up last Saturday and the jar is almost gone and that made me sad.  I was going to pick some up yesterday but it’s almost $7 a jar and I got to thinking…the only ingredients are peanuts, honey and sea salt…it couldn’t possibly be that hard to make my own right?  I’ve made almond butter before and it’s super easy.  You just dump almonds and a little olive oil in a food processor and let it go.  So I figured peanut butter (the nuts only cost me $3) would be more or less the same.  And it was.  And it was equally delicious.

Honey Coconut Peanut Butter
Makes 16oz.

  • 2 cups roasted un-salted peanuts
  • 2 tablespoons melted coconut oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • Sea salt to taste

Place peanuts and oil in a food processor.  Process for about 2 minutes and then scrape down the sides, add in honey and then process for few more minutes.  The peanuts will get crumbly looking and you’ll start thinking that you’ll never end up with peanut butter but all the sudden it starts turning into a big blob and then BAM. It gets creamy.  That’s when you know you’re in business.  At that point I started adding in salt until I liked the taste.  After eating a couple spoonfuls, I transferred the peanut butter into a mason jar and stored in the fridge.  Can’t wait to have it on my apples today.

Note – Make sure to use a larger/stronger food processor.  Don’t use a mini or it could overheat and break.  I think mine is a 7 cup? 

Has anyone else made their own nut butters?  Any good recipes to share?

And since I had my food processor out, I decided to make hummus using this recipe.  I packed it up in one of our glass containers (we have zero plastic storage containers in our house by the way.  BPA freaks me out) and will be having it plus carrots this week for my afternoon snack.

And since I was in prep-mode, I cut up a huge seedless watermelon so that any sweet cravings I get this week can be satisfied with fruit and not candy. Some went into a bowl in the fridge and some was packed up for work food.

And finally, because I just hadn’t messed up enough pans, spoons and bowls, I made us some spicy penne rosa with shrimp (minus the spinach) for dinner. I added a little more greek yogurt than normal and it was so much creamier.  Not sure if it was because it was the first meal I’d eaten that didn’t require being grilled on the campfire or what, but it was extra amazing.

All that work in the kitchen seriously wore me out but I’m so glad I did it.  All my snacks for the week are prepped so now when I get up in the morning it’s an easy grab an go.

What about you guys?  Are you Sunday food preppers?  Any other favorite easy snack ideas to share? 

15 thoughts on “Making homemade peanut butter

  1. I love Sunday prep day! I find this saves me not only from making bad choices when I am at work or out and about, but also saves me money! My Sunday prep includes: hard boiling eggs (they are one of me & my hubby’s fav on the go snacks/breakfast accompaniment) grilling up 4 boneless, skinless organic chicken breasts ( I like to eat plain for lunch or chop up for a quick salad 3. slicing up a random mix of veggies and portioning out for on thego snacks!

    • What’s your egg boiling secret? I totally suck at them and they never peel easily. I also need to start grilling up chicken breast and using them for lunch salads. I always struggle with lunch and end up eating a bunch of little snacks instead of one good, solid lunch.

      • the secret to hard boiled eggs is to never boil them! Perfect hard cooked eggs every time! put eggs in cold water-bring to a boil(barely), turn off the heat-cover and leave for 18-20 minutes. Drain and immerse in ice water until cold. Never fails!

  2. Careful with that coconut oil – it’s super high in saturated fat. However, it does seem to be good saturated fat (I know sounds like an oxymoron). It is supposed to provide great memory improvement for alzheimer’s patients. At least if I remember right, I don’t eat it myself.

  3. Ok Whit here it is…..the secret to the perfect hard boiled egg. Seriously, I cook hard boiled eggs EVERY WEEK and this is how you do it! Perfect every time!

    #1. place eggs gently in an empty pot then fill with water just enough to cover the top of the eggs (it does not matter if it is cold or hot, I just turn the facet on)
    #2. Add one tablespoon of white vinegar to your water (trust me, this is part of the secret for ease of peeling)
    #3.place the pot on the stove and turn burner on high heat
    #4. watch the pot (yes, I know what you are thinking “a watched pot never boils” and that is precisely what we want to do here) and wait for the water to become “corked” this is when you see a bubbling effect, or small waves on the surface of the water. DO NOT let the water reach a rapid boil. This will cook your eggs to death and eggs are very delicate. Most people overcook their eggs and they get that nasty grey ring around the yolk. This is the sulfur and it makes your eggs taste more sulfury (I am not even sure that is a word, or how you spell it, but whatever) and makes the whole house spell bad when you go to peel them and eat them! Eewww
    #5. Once the water has become “corked” place the lid on the pot, TURN OFF THE HEAT, and set the timer for EXACTLY 12 minutes. No more, no less.
    #6. Once the timer goes off, remove the pot from the stove top and immediately drain all the water from the pot and rinse with cold water, or submerge in an ice bath. I recommend just letting the cold water run on them until they are cool to the touch. About a minute or so. That is what I do. The ice bath thing is just one more step and really all you are trying to do is stop the cooking process.
    #7. Once you can handle the eggs, dry them off and put them in the fridge overnight. In the morning you will have perfect hard boiled eggs to enjoy all week long!

Leave a Reply

