Hydrate in July

So I think we have a little challenge on our hands.  After hearing from some of you, it sounds like we could all use a little help making sure we drink enough water (and those of you who are already rockstars can support everyone else).  Not only does drinking water help you to maintain your weight (helping you to stay fuller longer) but right now most of the country is experiencing a crazy heat wave and drinking water is just a smart thing to do, especially before and after a workout.  So even though Portland is just coming out of the 2nd rainiest June of all time and we certainly are not experiencing excessive amounts of heat (um, I’ll be happy if it’s 70F tomorrow)  I’ll join in as well.

Here’s the challenge:  Drink at least 120 oz of water a day (I told you this is a challenge), including 1 large glass (16 oz) right when you wake up.  For those of you who stick with it for the entire month, I’ll give come up with some sort of prize.  Probably involving water.  Good thing I have about a month to come up with something :)

To be in the challenge is easy.  Leave a comment below and tell me you’re in and then check in with me throughout the month.  By the time July 31st rolls around I must have seen some photographic evidence.   Show me all the ways you’re drinking your water – in jars, bottles…with lemons, with limes…Follow me on Twitter or Instagram (whitlikesfit in both places) and share your pics with me using the hashtag #hydrateinjuly.  You can also email me your pic or like my facebook page and post pics there.

And because today is the first day of the challenge, here’s how I’m kicking it off…sparkling with lemons.  Delish.

And now that we’ve got that out-of-the-way, lets talk about workouts.  I have a feeling I’m going to be super sore tomorrow.  I kicked things off with an easy 20 minutes on the bike and then went through this crazy circuit.  I really wanted to focus my chest but in the process a couple other body parts got worked out.

I did that 3 times through with light weights (5-10 lbs) and high reps (15-20) and then an easy cool down on the gazelle/glider machine for 20 minutes.

After work we ran some errands for a project Chris has going on and later we both ended up in the backyard.  I got a little sidetracked with some of my “chores” and ended up picking flowers for a festive 4th of July bouquet.

It got late and we decided to just pick-up dinner from Laughing Planet.  We rarely eat out on the weekdays but LP is one of the few places we will go.  Everything is organic, locally sourced and delicious.  I had the Bubba burrito (chicken, beans, rice, cheese, corn, sour cream) in a bowl.  So good.

And now that I’ve written a novel, I’m out.  We’re hosting a BBQ tomorrow so I need to be up bright and early to get things ready.  Hope everyone has a great 4th of July!  Hopefully you can squeeze a workout in before festivities begin.  I’m going to try and run.  We’ll see if it happens.  Oh and try not and eat too many s’mores :)

Who’s joining the #hydrateinjuly challenge?

24 thoughts on “Hydrate in July

    • I think it’s especially good to remember to drink water with all this heat. Two years ago I almost passed out from dehydration so I’ve definitely learned my lesson.

  1. Well, this is certainly a challenge! I have never drank that much water in one day ever! And, 16 oz first thing in the morning is definitely going to be the challenge within the challenge for me. But, I’m in!

    • It sounds like you’re doing great at this water challenge. Definitely goes good with your smoothie challenge. I just finished mine for breakfast – watermelon, blueberries, spinach, almond milk, greek yogurt. Yum.

  2. Pingback: What’s for dinner tonight… And a water challenge « From Miss to Mrs and So Much Else

  3. I’m participating!!!! Yay…I need to drinnk more water…especially with my marathon training. Love this, Whit! Also, how do you write on your pictures? What program is that and how do I get it? I love your workout font and layout too…we need to chat soon!

  4. Pingback: TGIF | Nohe'a Ola

  5. Pingback: Smoothie Love — Colourful Palate

  6. Pingback: Welcoming August with a big bear hug | Nohe'a Ola

Leave a Reply

