Pizza, Cider + a water challenge?

Last night I ate pizza.  And not like a normal human being 2 slices of pizza…we’re talking 5 slices and ranch on the side for dipping.  Sheesh.  I am out of control hahah.  But the pizza was so good!  We brought some Papa Murphy’s over to our friends’ (who are about to have a baby) house and they grilled it on the BBQ.  I have never had my papa smurfs this way and it was amazing!  The crust was so good!  I just couldn’t stop.  Chris and I both got in the car after and agreed that each of us ate more than we should so at least we were honest about things right?

And as we were just about home we got a call from a friend who was at Journey’s and asked us to meet him for a drink and obviously we can never say no to that place so of course we stopped by.  I was doing good too, just sipping on some water but the apricot cider just looked so good and eventually I ordered a mug.  But there is a silver lining to this story because I didn’t actually drink all 20 oz.  I left a little in my glass so I probably drank closer to 16.  Baby steps right?

Speaking of water, I have been trying to be better about drinking it.  Every day, my goal is to drink at least 4 giant 32 oz mason jars of water.  I get about 3 in at work and then between pre and post work, I get the last one. I also get a lot of comments about moonshine since I carry my jar with me all day long.  I mean, because of course I want to drink bootlegged liquor at 10am with my co-workers, right?

Since I am so dependent on my jar to measure my water intake you can imagine my horror when I got to work yesterday and realized I forgot my jar!  Serious panic spread through my body…how was I going to drink my water?  Did I have any spare cups at my desk?  Would I have to buy a bottle and refill it all day long (and poison myself with BPA)?  But luckily, I found this guy.  Who knows how long it had been in my drawer or where the lid was but at least it was a BPA free drinking device.  Totally drove me nuts all day since it was only 24 oz which meant one extra trip to the break-room for a fill-up but luckily I survived.

And because we’re talking water today, did you know one of Bob Harper’s Skinny Rules is to drink a glass of water every morning when you wake up?  I have heard the whole, “drink water before a meal” rule to help fill you up but 1st thing in the morning was new to me.   I’ve been trying it and it’s hard!  Drinking water before I eat breakfast is just not natural for me.  Not quite sure why, but I struggle!  I’ve been bringing a jar into the bathroom to drink while I’m getting ready and that seems to have helped…blow dry my hair for a bit, take a sip, put on makeup, take a sip…hazardous and probably a little un-hygienic but it gets the job done.

I’ve also been experimenting with adding fruit and veggies to my water like cucumber:

And watermelon:

And that has really helped.  I’ve also tried lemon juice and apple cider vinegar.  I think the concept of some sort of food with my water makes it go down easier?

What about you guys?  Do you have water “goals” for the day?  Do you add things to your water?  Do you want me join me in a water drinking challenge?  Maybe go the whole rest of July waking up and drinking a glass of water 1st thing in the morning?  I know Bob would sure be proud of us :)

10 thoughts on “Pizza, Cider + a water challenge?

  1. I haven’t had a water goal for the day in a long time – I think that it was 48 ounces. After I kept the goal I had been doing a good job of automatically keeping up so I stopped keeping track. I LOVE the idea of you adding in watermelon… does the apple cider vinegar taste good? I would give a try to a glass a morning!

    • Um no, the apple cider is kind of gross. With the lemon it’s a little more bearable…but I wouldn’t say I enjoy it. I guess it just has a little more flavor than water. I think if you put a little honey in it it could help.

  2. I just recently came across your blog and I’m loving it and wanted to say hi! I always drink a lot of water but started keeping track in the past few weeks because I do have random days where I don’t drink enough. If I forget my big BPA free bottle at home and use glasses at the office I keep a little post-it next to my glass and keep a tally throughout the day. I like to do slices of lemon or lime with mint, I love your idea of cucumbers or watermelon I’ll have to try that!

  3. Have been drinking a glass of water before breakfast for a long time. Not hard to get in the habit. Now, Journeys-that’s another story!

  4. The first thing I actually do every morning is chug half to a whole 16 ounce water bottle! For whatever reason I always wake up thirsty, and it seems to get me hydrated before I start in on coffee. It started as a habit before road races but now it’s everyday before work (weekends it doesn’t happen as much). I try to get a minimum of about 70 ounces a day.

    I like adding cucumber, lime or something to my water in the afternoon because it’s definitely harder for me to want to drink as much as the day goes on.

  5. I try to drink 96 ounces of water a day. I have a 24 oz bottle I refill 4 times a day. Most days I can get through it pretty easily. I read Bob’s rule about drinking a glass of water within 15 minutes of waking up and I have a hard time doing it too. I’ll definitely take up the challenge with you!

    • Good. I need all the help I can get. He says to put a glass of water by your bed but ug, I just don’t know. I think I need a little time before I can just down that thing.

  6. I am up for a water challenge! I always struggle to drink enough water. Always. Love the idea of a mason jar for water :) I do have to admit that drinking water first thing in the morning will be tough. The first thing I do after I wake up is head straight to my coffee pot! Water just tastes nastyto me first thing before coffee for some reason.

Leave a Reply

