Biking while reading

This is what happens when you read too long in the sun on your iphone/ipad.  See, I’d planned to spend my day off reading in the sun which meant I needed to have an actual book not my ipad.  But going to the book store seemed like so much work especially when the next installment of Christian Grey Fifty Shades was available at the click of a button.

I was not the biggest fan of the 1st book and had no plans to keep reading.  The submissive woman thing totally bugged me to the point where I was kind of disgusted by the whole thing.  I do not think that it’s ok to let men dominate you.  Ug and the whole rules/contract/you can’t look me in the eyes thing, bleh.  But I was talking to my friend and she told me to keep reading, that the dom/sub thing gets slightly less intense and you get to learn a little more about Christian Grey’s background and why he is the way he is.  Since I was curious to know his back-story I bought book 2.  So far, things are better in this book.  We get a little more vanilla and less crazy times plus you learn more about his childhood and there’s even a little mystery woman thrown in.  I was so hooked that I read for 40 min on the spin bike.  Sure, not the most intense workout but it was a little cardio/active rest which my body appreciated.  I’m actually about to hop back on the bike and read some more.  I’ll probably only read for 30 min and then pick up the pace for the last 30.

Question for you…have you read all the 50 Shades books?  Thoughts? If you have, who do you think should play Christian in a movie?  I’m going with this guy.  

And because Christian Grey is a fictional character in a book and my husband is so much better, I ditched the ipad for the night and we headed downtown to enjoy the 1st real night of summer in PDX.  We met up with some friends at Mellow Mushroom for some pizza and then headed across the street to Rouge.

I love Portland in the summer :)  It’s crazy that I still have a whole weekend left to enjoy the sunshine.  How nice would it be to only work 2 days a week all the time?  Once Chris gets home today we’ll be doing some sweaty (back and arm toning) labor and moving some river rock from the top of our driveway to the backyard.  He moved half the pile yesterday but there’s still a lot more to go.  He has done an amazing job with the backyard.  I can’t wait to share pics.  Not sure of our plans after that.  Tomorrow we’re celebrating a friend’s 30th bday and taking a brew tour by bike.  Not sure how good all the beer calories will be for me but at least we have to ride a bike around to get them right?  That counts as cardio.

And I’m out.  Gotta go ride the bike and read about Mr. Grey.  But before I do, just want to check in with you on the #hydrateinJuly challenge.  I drank all 120 oz yesterday including 16 oz when I woke up.  I felt great but I did have to go to the bathroom like every 5 minutes.  Hopefully once my body gets used to the water that won’t happen as much.  I have also found it super helpful to drink out of a straw.  For my last 32 oz I stood in the kitchen and sucked the whole thing down in about a minute.  That might be my new strategy.

How is everyone else doing with the challenge?  Any tips to share?

5 thoughts on “Biking while reading

  1. I felt the same way about 50 shades! I am actually only half way through and then read other books because I just was kind of disgusted by some of it and I didn’t love the characters. BUT I really want to know his history out of pure curiousity. My deck and I have a date tomorrow morning so I may have to pick it back up…

  2. I just started reading 50 shades and I was a little disgusted too. I felt the same way as you! But I guess I will keep reading since everyone says to!
    good job on all that cardio/active rest. you are getting in so much more of a work-out than I am! I just got invited on a boat so I’m skipping my work-out—not good but I can’t resist, it’s summer! If you have a chance in the morning head to my Pilates class!

  3. Love how a good book can make a workout fly by! Felt the same so it’s good to know the second book gets more interesting/real. So funny, I was reading it on a plane the other week and the flight attendant came up to me and told me that she and her husband had been reading it to each other. Double ack!

Leave a Reply

