1st weekend of summer

Summer finally arrived in Portland…just like always, after the 4th of July.  And I’ve had a great time enjoying every moment of it.

I drank lots of water for the #hydrateinjuly challenge.

Enjoyed dinner downtown at Santa Fe with some friends and while we were there, watched the line at Salt & Straw (ice cream shop across the street) grow like crazy.

Did Jillian’s 30 Day Shred levels 1 & 2 and had a hearty breakfast of steel-cut oats with chia seeds, flax, almond butter and a little agave…

Before heading off on a brew cycle tour with approx 13 other people for a friend’s bday.  You ride a giant bike around Portland while stopping in at different breweries.  Awesome.

We also worked in the yard.  And by we I mean mostly Chris.  I helped him shovel some rocks but he turned them into something beautiful and finished off our retaining wall.

I also harvested some crops in my garden…we will be eating salads forever.

And went to the store to pick up some necessities.

This evening, we rode our bikes to Journey’s for a private Keg Killer party (I was good, only 1 mug and one slice of pizza).  Not sure if I should be embarrassed or proud that I have the 2nd highest kills for a girl?

And currently we’re chilling on the deck.  Chris had some fro yo while I opted for my favorite lemonade popsicle.  So good.

And we’re also enjoying a little mini fire thing that my mom bought for us a while ago.  It’s so peaceful and cozy out here I never want to go back in the house.

All in all, an excellent way to kick off summer.  We may not get a lot of it here in Portland but what we do get is spectacular.  And as much as I don’t want to go back to reality, I haven’t worked since Tuesday so it will be nice to get back into the swing of things.  Especially the a consistent gym routine.  Summer is good for my soul but not my waistline :)

Hope you all had a good weekend.  What was your favorite thing you did?  And what’s your go-to popsicle flavor?

 

 

4 thoughts on “1st weekend of summer

  1. Your deck + dog + chairs + fire = ideal way to end a summer weekend!!!!

    I have to look into that bike brewery tour to see if they have any in this area. It looks like so much fun :)

    • We drove by there again earlier this week and there was no line at 5 but as we were coming home later at like 7 it was back around the block. Now we know what time to go if we ever want to try it.

Leave a Reply

