7 pounds

I have a confession.  I have gained 7 pounds since January.

And for a while I tried to brush it off as water weight, too much salt, that time of the month…but it’s time to face the music.  These 7 pounds are not going away on their own.  I’m chalking it up largely to Journey’s where in January I joined the mug club.  Coincidence?  I think not.  In hindsight, joining a club where I regularly get 20oz drinks was probably not the healthiest choice to make.  I don’t even drink 20oz coffees hahah.  Beyond Journey’s I’d say I’ve been enjoying a few more desserts than necessary – I mean, 1 cookie is ok but 5?  Or how about the night I ate a pint of Ben & Jerry’s?  Yes, you read that right, a PINT!

And normally this time of the year I’d be like Chris, training for Hood to Coast, and would be running my butt off so the extra calories wouldn’t be that much of an issue.  But I’m not training for HTC and my cardio has been nowhere near as intense as it normally is this time of the year.  So you add it all up and 7 pounds doesn’t no seem like a shocker.  Actually I kind of feel lucky it’s only that much.

So what am I going to do about it?  Lose it.  That’s what.  By cutting out cookies/brownies/cake/ice cream and any other sort of dessert.  I’m also giving up chips and crackers.  Those are my downfall.  I can polish off a bag of chips like you wouldn’t believe.  And alcohol.  No more ciders.  Period.  And as of August 1st no more beer (I’m going to Sun River next week and will be going to some of the best breweries around, I’m being realistic).  I’m still on the fence about wine.  I don’t love it like I love beer and cider so it’s not as much as a trigger point for me.  For now I’m just going to say I’ll cut back.  I’ll reevaluate in a few weeks and see where I’m at.

My 2 year anniversary is September 11th and I had big plans to weigh the same then as I did on my wedding date but at this point, that doesn’t seem super realistic but we’ll see.  It’s always good to have a goal.

So what did I do today towards that goal?  I ran a super-slow 4.5 miles and did not eat the chips in the cupboard after I got home from work when I really wanted them.  And I had this delicious dinner.

Anyone else want to join me in my renewed focus on food?  I’m always up for buddies to help keep my accountable :) 

 

 

38 thoughts on “7 pounds

  1. I’ll join you! Trying to stay focused before I leave for vacation in a couple days. It’s hard – but totally worth it.

  2. I can relate! I’m up a few pounds right now due to going away on the weekends. It all started Memorial Day weekend and I started the weekend off great but as it went on I indulged in wine on 2 nights, had some snacks I normally wouldn’t, etc. Then came a week’s vacation and I drank every single night and ate things I shouldn’t have. Now, again, I went away this past weekend and had a repeat of the eating and drinking. And this weekend we’re away again! I am determined NOT to drink anything and to keep up with my normal clean eating.

    • I swear the weekends are the killer. If I do bad on the weekend it’s so hard to pull it together again on the week. And vacations are just like one big weekend…good luck with the next couple weeks. It sounds like you’ve got the right attitude :)

  3. I could have written this post… I got on the scale last week for the first time since April 5, and I was up 10 pounds from then. And my weight on April 5, my last visit to WW, was nowhere near my goal. So yeah, I know exactly where you are coming from. And your weaknesses are mine too. I. Love. Beer. I am really trying to limit myself to the weekend, and just one day. It’s never fun to write a post about gaining weight, but this is why we are all here, right? And sometimes “saying it” makes us more accountable. I have a blog post all typed up about my weight gain and I haven’t been able to post it. But now I will. I need to. We can commiserate together!!

    • Glad we can commiserate together. It’s never fun to have to admit that I’m not as fit as I want to be. Especially since I write a public blog I feel like I needed to be honest with myself and anyone out there reading. Summer just sucks when it comes to staying in shape. There are so many fun things to do and eat. It kills me not to have an ice cold beer on a hot day but in the grand scheme of things I’d be much happier if I felt more confident in my bikini than having those 200 calories going down into my belly :) Good luck with your goal. Let’s get after it together.

  4. I’m in a similar, but not, situation. I’ve been doing IF now and have lost 12 of the 15 I had as a goal. Clothes fit great, went down 2 dress sizes, people really notice, but….. But, for the last month, NOTHING!! NADA, zip, zilch has moved on the scale. I want to tell myself that it is where I am destined to be for my age (46), but that’s only a justification. I kick my own ass in the gym and have a trainer 2 times a week… I’m the wino that you aren’t. Desserts, I can give up with ease, but wine. Love my 2 glasses a night. I’ve made myself a promise that I’ll give it up except for weekends and will cut out the “one bites” that I find myself having during the day. You know, one bite of Triscuit, one bite of cheese, etc. Hopefully, that with a few extra tabatas during the week will move the needle again. Good luck on your goal!! Let’s get to it….

    • Oh I know that “one bite” well :) That’s where my chip habit comes in. And then all the sudden one bite turns into 10… Good job on coming up with a plan to limit the wine. I really feel like if you love something you should let yourself have it in moderation otherwise (at least for me) I end of binging on anything I try to 100% limit. Good luck with your goal and know that I’m right there with you.

  5. I’ve been working on losing a few extra pounds I’ve been carrying around. Hopefully before my wedding in September. I’ve lost around 10 but it’s been hard to stay focused with so much going on before the wedding! This would be a great way to keep myself responsible and on track!

    • I know that in the couple weeks leading up to my (September) wedding the pounds dropped off because I was so busy/stressed. Sometimes I wish they hadn’t come off so easy because that weight is constantly in my head of when I felt my best haha. Good luck with your goal. I’m cheering you on.

  6. Isn’t it crazy how those pounds sneak on?! I’m going through something similar and even though I’m rocking it most of the time I fall off the wagon now and then, especially when I’m stressed. Having someone to keep you accountable is always a great idea, good luck reaching your goal!

  7. I hear ya! Wine is my issue. I made this same plan for my wine intake about a two weeks ago and I have already dropped a few pounds. I have done great this week. I think when I see progress from cutting it out, it will push me to keep limiting it. I plan to have a glass or two on Sat night. I was so lost when it came to wine. I was thinking that it was so low in carbs that it would not affect my weight, but after research, I realized it is not good idea. Most of it turns to sugar and can keep fat stored. I hit a plateau and now I can see that I am pushing past it and I pretty sure the wine was part of it. I’m gonna stay on track with ya girl!

    • Congrats on the weight you’ve lost so far! It’s definitely encouraging to keep motivated when you see pounds coming off. I hear you on the wine. I always tell myself it’s the best drink to drink because it’s the lowest calories but some (especially the whites and Rose that I love) can get you with the sugar. Happy to have some more people on the weight loss train :)

  8. I’m in! I just changed my weight watchers plan to simply filling which worked for me before. It limits my choice of foods but the food that’s allowed is healthy. It does allow me to have 2 glasses of wine-3-4days a week. It will certainly be a challenge next week, but we can do it!

    • I’m glad you’re in for next week. If I can get through Sun River I think the rest of August will be pretty easy. I am determined not to eat cookies and chips and I think I can do it. It’s just that darn wine! We can do it.

  9. I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s gained a little (for me, a lot) lately. I’m with you on refocusing though! I’ve been reading this awesome book called the Crazy Sexy Diet and am going vegan for the next 21 days to cleanse my body of all the junk I’ve been guzzling lately. The hardest part is limiting wine. I didn’t realize how much I enjoy it at the end of the day! Glad we’re in it together!!

    • That book sounds super interesting. Let me know how it goes. I’ve thought about going veggie/vegan especially because I’m not the biggest fan of meat. But I have low iron and I just worry I couldn’t get enough without meat. Keep me posted on your progress though. I can’t wait to hear about it. And I’m glad I’m not the only one who finds it hard to pass up a delicious beverage at the end of the day :)

    • Yay! Another person to help keep me accountable. I am really focusing on eating cleaner too. I feel like I constantly struggle with making good, clean but filling lunches. I’d love any recipes or ideas you have.

  10. Oh my stars, I am in the same boat!! I actually have 9 pounds left of baby weight from our awesome peanut man, but he really isn’t the excuse any longer! Even with 5-6 Pilates and spin sessions each week, it isn’t budging. I need to be more accountable and get off my snacking on crap phase. Booooooo!! I am happy to join in! Side note- LOVE your blog! I have been reading for about 8-9 months now. : )

    • Thanks for the nice words. Glad people like this little blog of mine haha. 2nd – congrats are getting almost back to your post baby goal wait. That is awesome! I think just being a little more mindful with your eating is a big thing to focus on. I know I’m horrible about grabbing a handful of chips or a couple bites of something which all adds up, especially when you don’t have much left to lose. I’m loving all the group support that’s out there. We’ll all stay on track :)

  11. I have been trying to shed about 5 lbs. so I’ll join you! I definitely do not need the extra fro-yo I’ve been eating. We can do it! :)

  12. This is a great post and I can totally relate. You inspired me to go easy on the desserts and no more chips or pretzels. I could also use a cool down on the wine. I have been threatening to do the above for months, but now I am feeling truly inspired. Thank you for writing this!!

    • Glad I could help! I just felt like I had to put it out there to help keep myself accountable. Good to know its helping other people. We still need to grab coffee by the way. I’m off to sun river for the next few days but should be around for most of the weekends in August. Maybe like a Sunday or something?

  13. Training for my first marathon- The Disney full marathon in January- I have been trying to research some healthy go-to’s to ensure a good time on the race and a healthy body. I’ve converted to a part-time vegan diet- Only eating meat two days out of the week, and eggs and dairy 3 days a week. Every other day is 100% vegan. I was skeptacle at first but I’ve been on it for 5 weeks and I can notice a smaller waist and a rise in motivation! I highly reccommend it!

    iammkroxc.blogspot.com

    • Really? That’s great to hear. I’ve long thought about trying a couple meatless meals a week because I believe there are a lot of health benefits when you cut it out. However, Chris is a huge meat eater and I just haven’t tried doing the separate meals. Keep me posted on your progress and maybe I can use it to convince him :) Good luck with your marathon too!

  14. I am always working on my diet so I’ll join you. I have gained and lost the same 10 pounds about three times over the past 15 years. I am needing to lose at least another 6 right now. It just creeps up on ya. I’m a big fitness fanatic these days too. I’m planning to run a half next year. BTW, I love your blog. I’m originally from PDX and all my family is still there. I miss the green grass and trees and the fam. I’m in Oklahoma now and it’s not the same at all.

    • It’s funny, I’ve always wanted to go explore the midwest :) Are the winters at least better there? Crazy snow I’m sure but at least not the rain like here? Good luck with those last few stubborn pounds. I’m right there with you…they’re sneaky and just creep right on there :)

      • Our last winter was super mild, only one day of snow and no ice storms. The year before that there were two or three blizzards back to back. It’s not very green here and there’s not much in the way of forests and hiking/camping.

  15. I weighed myself the other day and actually gained exactly 7 pounds as well since the last time I weighed myself. Weirdly it has been since I started training for my first half marathon….how does that happen?! I think I have actually gained muscle as well as have been eating about double than usual because of the whole “well I work out so much so I can stuff my face” excuse. But hey, I am getting a lot of exercise at least :) I am definitely in to start eating better portions and cleaner!

    • That’s awesome that you’re training for your 1st half. Wanna trade knees hahah? I’m sure you’re gaining muscle, probably in your legs too which are some of the biggest muscles in your body. You might want to get your body fat % checked and that can help give you a more accurate read on things. I can totally relate to the “I worked out now I can eat excuse” but at least you’re running it off. That burns tons of calories so I’m sure you’re fine. If you were just doing the elliptical or something…that’s a different story.

  16. I just blogged about how I need to refocus myself as I have been indulging a lot lately. Summer is a hard time to keep on track, especially since I am a teacher and not working all summer. When I am off my routine I don’t eat properly and my belly is evidence of that! Recognizing there is a problem is the first step. You aren’t alone! Good luck!

  17. Pingback: » Step up to the scale

  18. Pingback: Getting Back on Track With Your Goals

Leave a Reply

