Sun River + the best smoothie ever

Hola! Happy Saturday morning to you :) Today is an extra good one for me since I’m hanging out in Sun River for the next few days. For those of you not familiar, Sun River is near Bend in Central Oregon and just so happens to be one of my favorite places ever. I just love the dry, sunny, dessert like climate. And everything smells deliciously of pine trees. Glorious.

20120728-100045.jpg

20120728-093845.jpg

We’re here with my in-laws to celebrate my Father-in-law’s birthday on Tuesday and to just relax for the rest of the days. We got in last night (ps Chris and I both got up at 5am to make sure we got our workouts in. He ran, I rode the bike before we dropped Chance of for boarding…go us) walked down to the Village for dinner where I was good and ordered a chicken salad instead of a pulled pork sandwich and sweet potato fries and drank water while everyone else had beer. However I promptly ruined my good day of eating when we got home and discovered that a previous renter had left a big bowl of Reese’s PB cups in the cupboard. Whoops. Let’s not talk about how many I ate. Or the cookie I had after that or the glass of wine…(but in my defense I kept it to 1 only).

20120728-100224.jpg

But today’s a new day and a fresh start to eating. We brought our Magic Bullet so we could make smoothies and I whipped up a blueberry, banana, peanut butter concoction. Which was good but nothing like the one I made yesterday. It may have been my best smoothie EVER! You have to try it and tell me what you think.

20120728-095350.jpg

And now we’re off to check out a couple properties for sale (perfect world has us owning a vacation home here), followed by some pool time, bike rides and my honey dijon chicken and quinoa for dinner.

Hope you have a great day. Question for you – What’s your favorite place to vacation close to home?

5 thoughts on “Sun River + the best smoothie ever

  1. Sun River looks beautiful. I am from California and my favorite place to travel that is close to home but still feels like a vacay is Lake Tahoe. In the summer we rent a house by the lake and spend the day on the water wake boarding, water skiing, and just relaxing on the boat! In the winter we stay by a ski resort and ski/snowboard. I love going to Tahoe because where I live we don’t really have “seasons” and never get snow so it’s fun to go somewhere that does!

  2. It sounds heavenly there, I love the smell of pine trees. :) I wouldn’t stress too much over your eating “slip”, you’ll get back to it. Enjoy your visit!

Leave a Reply

