Black, Blue & Delicious + I need a new book

It’s going to be a hot one today. We’re talking 97 degrees which rarely happens here. There’s even an extreme weather advisory. Yikes. Hope I don’t melt :) And I can already tell I’m going to need some serious sunscreen because by 7:30 we had our living room fan turned on (PS we have no AC…tonight’s gonna be fun). Chris was way better than me and got up and went for a run while I opted for some leisurely breakfast eating while listening/watching Great American’s Country. Ahhhhh Saturday’s.

And I know right now you’re just dying to know what I had for breakfast so I won’t keep you in suspense any longer.

Black & Blue Protein Smoothie

  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 cup frozen blackberries
  • 1/4 cup protein plus peanut flour
  • 1/2 scoop Designer Whey French Vanilla protein powder
  • 1 cup (ish) spinach
  • 1 teaspoon psyllilum husk powder (fiber)
  • 1 teaspoon raw maca (energy/hormone balancing)
  • 1.5 cups unsweetened vanilla almond milk

Nutritional stats:

Next I was going to tell you about last night’s delicious stir-fry dinner but Chris got back and asked me if I wanted to go for a walk with he and Chance. How could I say no to that? :) And then after our 20 minute (already steamy walk) I was already in my running clothes so I decided to pop out an easy 2 miler on the treadmill. Done and done!

And now we’re off to float the river. Can’t wait to see what kind of craziness we see out there.

But before I leave you I need some help. Tomorrow I’m planning on spending some leisurely time reading a book in the shade except that I have no book :( I polished off Night Circus (so good!) during last night’s spin-bike cardio session. I’m looking for a good “beachy” type read. You know, a little summertime easy reading. Maybe with a love story thrown in?

Any recommendations?

Note – apparently this post didn’t post this morning.  We’re now back from 7 hours on the river in 100 degree weather and I did not get burned anywhere!  That makes me really happy because I always seem to miss spots with my sunscreen.  Today I applied my SPF 30 about 30 times and while I was made fun of a few times I’m glad I did.  Gotta protect your skin :)

8 thoughts on “Black, Blue & Delicious + I need a new book

  1. That smoothie looks SO GOOD. And such a pretty color, too :) Oh my gosh, The Night Circus was awesome, I also just finished it the other day. Hmmm a summer beachy read. I read Jennifer Weiner’s “Than Came You” a few weeks ago and really liked it.

  2. I live in Beaverton and we also don’t have air conditioning! I am surprised that it is so cool in my house now… now that it is going to stay that way! That smoothie looks absolutely delicious!

  3. This smoothie looks amazing. Have you ever tried using pumpkin and frozen blueberries together in a protein smoothie? PaleOMG has a pretty amazing recipe for it. Also I am definitely a compulsive sunscreen applier as well… being a redhead is tough! And last but not least, have you read Bossypants by Tina Fey? Because it is the ultimate summer reading and is HILARIOUS.

    • I love pumpkin in my smoothie but have never done it with blueberries. Thanks for the tip. I’ll definitely be trying that this fall. Banana with pumpkin is great by the way too :) Thanks for the bossypants recommendation. I’ve heard other people say this is good so I think I finally need to break down and get it.

Leave a Reply

