Happy Monday + Grilled sweet potatoes

Now that Monday’s pretty much over is it bad that I’m already counting down to Friday? I honestly have no big plans but I think the fact that summer is almost over makes me appreciate it more.  I realized I can’t remember the last time I actually sat outside in my Adirondack chair drinking coffee on a Saturday morning so I fully plan on taking advantage of that before I can’t.  I also feel like baking.  Maybe because fall is in the air or something but I have this crazy craving for something pumpkin-y.  I also really want to clean out my closet and dresser and then re-evaluate my wardrobe.  Kind of like back to school shopping except I’m not going back to school…Wow, I just realized the above paragraph makes me sound old.  Eh, oh well. I’m still jazzed.

You know what else I’m jazzed about?  Tonight’s dinner.  It was so good.  I had initially planned on making BBQ chicken with corn on the cob and Annie’s but Chris has Hood to Coast this weekend so he gets to dictate most of the meals this week and this one sounded good to him (side note, anytime my husband wants quinoa instead of pasta is a good day).

And because I’m trying to cut back on carbs I subbed in sweet potatoes for the traditional quinoa (and yes I know that sweet potatoes are a carb).

They were so easy to make, just scrub a sweet potato, slice into rounds, spray with olive oil, and sprinkle with cayenne pepper and garlic (these are the same ingredients I used on the corn).  Wrap in foil and grill for 15-20 minutes.

And for dessert I had some watermelon.

And now I’m off to relax.  I actually feel like I could fall asleep at the computer right now which isn’t good since it’s not even 9 – maybe my workout wore me out?  I went for a 30 minute slow jog on the treadmill and then hit up my favorite lunchtime pilates reformer class.  Tomorrow I’m actually getting up at 5 so that I can get in some cardio before another reformer class.  My gym offers classes at 6 and 7 AM on Tuesday/Thursday’s but I don’t love the teacher so I usually skip it but tomorrow this sub is coming in and I really want to try her class.  I’ve heard she’s hard.  Can’t wait.

Also, wanted to pass along this post from One Fit Foodie.  Great stuff about how people (particularly “healthy living bloggers”) should make sure they’re eating real, whole food to fuel their bodies and not fake chemicals and giant bowls of veggies with no protein.  I totally agree with her.  It drives me crazy to read these blogs (that I’m sure young, unaware women are reading) and see them filled with recipes that while low in calories are super high in processed foods or consist only of a huge plate of broccoli.  Yikes, don’t get me started on this.  Kind of hit a nerve.  Anyway, go check out her post and her site.

Thoughts from the peanut gallery?  For some reason I can’t think of any engaging question to ask so I’ll turn things around.  Anyone have anything they want to ask me?  About anything? 

Ooh or tell me what your favorite fall baked good is.

4 thoughts on “Happy Monday + Grilled sweet potatoes

Leave a Reply

