Blackberry chipotle chicken

Can I just give you a little rundown of my day?

  • 5:20: Wake up/brush teeth/wash face/put on gym clothes
  • 5:40: Make & eat breakfast, make lunch, make coffee, make Chris’ smoothie
  • 6:00: leave the house
  • 6:30 – 7: cardio intervals on the bike with Mandee. (30 sec fast/1 min recover)
  • 7-8: Pilates reformer with a sub who was amazing!  If you live in the Portland area you have to check her out.
  • 8:30-6: Work.  Mostly meetings, including a 2 hour working lunch where I brought my own and avoided the cookie.  Go me.
  • 6-7: Honestly I’m not sure where this time went.  If you account for traffic, a stop at Rite Aid, a PB & jelly rice cake snack and a random look at some property with Chris I think that makes up just about an hour.
  • 7-8: Make dinner.  It was delicious but relatively time-consuming.
  • 8-8:30: Eat dinner
  • 8:30-9: Clean up from dinner
  • 9: Finally sitting down on the couch to relax.

It was a good day but it just feels like a lot.  I love getting up and working out in the morning but I usually just do it at my house.  Rachel the awesome pilates sub is also teaching a class Thursday and I’d love to go but it means Chris has to also come in early and I’m not sure if that will work.  I’m toying with going to the 6am pilates class and then coming home, getting Chris and going back to work.  We shall see.

What about you?  What’s your favorite time to workout?  Does getting taught by a certain teacher make you want to go to an out of your ordinary routine class? 

Oh and because blogs are always better with pictures, here are a few visual.

Egg + pepper pouf for breakfast

Salad for lunch

My new favorite snack (1 ate 3! Whoops)

And now for dinner.  It was amazing!

Blackberry Chipotle Chicken with Sweet Potato Fries

For the chicken – sprinkle organic/boneless/skinless chicken breast with Italian seasoning.  Grill. This takes about 15 minutes.

For the sweet potato fries – scrub and chop up 2 sweet potatoes into skinny “fry” shapes.  Spray with olive oil and sprinkle with cayenne, sea salt, garlic and paprika.  Bake in a 450 degree oven for about 45 minutes.  This time I baked them on top of a wire rack inside a cookie shake and that seemed to make them crisper than if I didn’t use the rack.

For the oh so delicious sauce – mix 1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce, 1/2 blackberry jam (if you want it a little sweeter add a little more jam or a drizzle of honey), 1/4 balsamic vinegar, 1 teaspoon garlic and the sauce of 1 can of chipotle chilies in adobo sauce.  Bring to boil and then turn heat to low, stirring until it thickens.

Then you pour the sauce (which is also good for fry dipping) over the chicken and enjoy.

And there you go.  Another must-try recipe.  It’s going to become a staple here, I hope it becomes one in your house.

Night :)

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Blackberry chipotle chicken

  1. I miss my morning workouts. I am looking forward to starting back up next week with my husband :) I start my new job on Monday and it is within a mile radius of the school where he teaches and our gym – keeping my fingers crossed that we can stick to our routine.

Leave a Reply

