Sunday Morning Blackberry Muffins

This morning I woke up and felt like baking. I love baking. Probably more than cooking but I don’t do it that much because I end up eating whatever I bake and typically that does not end up being a healthy activity. In college, my best friend/roommate and I were baking extraordinaires. You could probably even say obsessed. You name it, we baked it. But luckily we lived in an apartment complex full of hungry boys and after a big baking extravaganza we could be found going door to door dropping off delicious treats. But I digress…

Back to today.

Maybe it was because for the first time in a while I did not wake up to super bright sunshine streaming through my window, maybe because yesterday, with the first football game of the season it truly felt like fall, or maybe because I just plain hadn’t done it in a while…I whipped out my cookbooks and started browsing.

And ended up with this.

Yum.

Blackberry Muffins (with honey and greek yogurt)
Makes 12
Adapted from a Cooking Light recipe

Dry ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax meal
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Wet ingredients

  • 1/4 cup low-sugar orange juice
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 2 tablespoons coconut butter (melted)
  • 1 6 oz carton plain non-fat greek yogurt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup frozen blackberries
  • Cooking spray
  • Cinnamon-Sugar (for sprinkling)

Pre-heat over to 400 Degrees. Mix dry ingredients first. Add in wet ingredients (minus blackberries). Fold in blackberries by hand. Spoon mixture into muffin tins sprayed with cooking spray (I used olive oil). Top each muffin with a light sprinkling of cinnamon sugar. Bake for 18 minutes. Remove from heat. Gently remove from muffin pan and let cool on wire rack.

And now I’m off to watch a little football and beg my fantasy team to pull it together and beat Chris’s team. Wish me luck.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Blackberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

