Beet brownies

So the last time we were at Costco I told Chris I HAD to have the party sized box of pre-steamed baby beets.  He told me it was an impulse purchase.  I told him he was wrong.  I’d eat all the beets in my lunches.

Um, that’s a lot of beets.  After going through a couple of packs I was beeted out.

So I did what any normal internet-loving lady would do.  I turned them into dessert.

Beet Brownies
Recipe from here.

  • 6-8ish pre-steamed baby beets (or real beets that you cook 1st)
  • ¾ cup honey
  • 3 eggs
  • ½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon sea salt
  • ¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease an 8×8 pan (I use olive oil in my mister). Mix everything up in a food processor.

Pour into the pan (lick the bowl too till its spotless because the batter is amazing). Bake for 45 minutes.

Let cool.  Eat.

Update – I tossed the extra brownies in the freezer (to prevent myself from scarfing them all at once) and turns out they are amazing frozen!  They taste sort of like a spicy cinnamon fudgesicle. 

10 thoughts on “Beet brownies

  1. They look delicious and I think I may have a bunch of beets I need to do something with. I have a ‘veggie-hating’ hubby, and he really liked some eggplant bread I made, so I am sure he would like these as well. I will be trying this recipe out. :-)

Leave a Reply

